“You just Know’

When you have discovered the perfect career path, you become so excited that you just want to scream in  joy.  God has done it again. He has shown you how perfect His plans are and you become speechless. Your friend asks you, “How do you know you’ve found your calling.” You answer, “You just know.”

Throughout the three years that I have been in college, God has slowly but surely hinted to me about my future. In my second year, I had overwhelming feelings that photography was simply not enough for me. So, I pursued the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism. After speaking with an adviser, I realized that journalism was not the right fit. God is so good at helping us get to where we need to be; sometimes we need to set foot in the wrong direction to fully understand what is right.

fork in road[This image was not photographed by me.]

This first failed attempt did not get me down. I immediately began searching elsewhere and I started to remembered my first bizarre childhood dream: becoming a counselor. When I was little, I loved giving advice to people. My mom and dad started telling me that I was “wise beyond my years” when I was in third grade. Soon after, I dreamed of becoming a counselor to help people to “be happy”. Not the typical childhood dream of becoming a firewomen, doctor, vet, or superhero, right? Yet, my intuition knew that it was right. After over ten years, I have been reminded of my first childhood dream. So, last year, I finally knew that I also needed to pursue Family and Human Development. I instantly felt fulfilled with amazing staff, classes with meaningful content, and I could not asking for anything else. When you find your calling, you just know that it is God’s perfect plan for you and nothing can stop you from pursuing it.

HAY_16172My brother is one of those beautiful souls who pursued his childhood dream of becoming a fireman. I am so proud of him and we all “just know” that it is the perfect fit for him.

One thought on ““You just Know’

Leave a comment