Combining your Dreams into One Possible Reality

HAY_4362

A few days ago, I made a post about how I came to discover my calling as a child psychotherapist. Recently, my dreams have developed into something greater and I will illustrate how I will make them come true. This semester I have been taking a course entitled, “Professional Practices for Artists.” I have learned more valuable life-lessons in this course than in any other course throughout my life. I have learned how to be confident in myself, how to be professional, how to market my artwork and human rights philosophies, and best of all, I have discovered my true God-given career path.

In the past week I came to a huge epiphany. I realized that my two career paths (art and science) do not have to be mutually exclusive. I also realized that my incredible passion for horses does not have to be separate from my career goals. In one class period, my dreams evolved from just counseling into Equine Therapy.

IMG_5680

Words cannot explain how perfect this career path is for me. It combines my incredible passion for helping children, my desire to become a therapist, and my desire to be around horses for the rest of my life. Not only that, but it will also provide me with a major outlet to get amazing fine art images. Best of all, this business will allow me to impact my community in a positive way. It is literally the perfect plan for my life.

So, what is the next step? Baby steps. It will be a huge task to start my own therapy practice, but I know I can do it. I was born to do it; it is my calling. My first step is to create a 30+ page professional business plan. This document will help me to articulate my thoughts, solve all of the nitty-gritty details, and have a more developed understanding about how to start my own business. I will learn about the competing companies in the areas surrounding my business, my target market, how I will earn funds and finance the property, and every other detail you can think of. Down the road, I’ll have to go to graduate school for counseling. All the while, I will be gaining new skills to ensure the success of my future equine therapy practice. Eventually, you can find me on a beautiful plot of land in Colorado with my fifteen horses taking children with high emotional needs on a fun, therapeutic trail ride.

IMG_5676

3 thoughts on “Combining your Dreams into One Possible Reality

  1. I love the way you found a way to fit all your dreams into one big dream.
    I volunteered for a day at an equine therapy for children organization back in school. It was an interesting experience for me since I had never been in such close quarters to horses before. Previously I had always been a little fearful of horses.

  2. I read this post along with your biography and what I admire is that you are not afraid to express your faith, in your writing. You have a gift and a kind heart. May God guide you in fulfilling your dreams and goals.

    • Thank you so much for your support and your kind words. I really appreciate it and I pray that God fulfills your dreams and goals as well! Have a great summer!

Leave a comment