The Affect We Have On Others

Most often, we have a cloudy perception of our ability to influence others. We may be aware of our power to impact a person, but unaware of the extent to which we are capable. This effect may be good or bad, but for the purpose of maintaining a positive attitude, I want to focus on the good. I’ll start with the story of Alison.

HAY_16702Recently, I have received two separate emails from two individuals that I have photographed for my current photography project. The first woman, Alison, volunteered for my project because of her previous experiences in abusive, romantic relationships. Her story is powerful because of the strength, courage, and determination that this young woman has obtained after years of abuse. Alison is a symbol of power and overcoming struggle. As I have become acquainted with her, she has earned a large amount of my respect. For this reason, I was beyond honored when she had told me this:

“Thank you for photographing my family and for allowing me to be a part of your amazing project. I told my sister about it and your project has opened the doors of communication between us. We never talked much before about that stuff, but now I have a new closeness with my sister, and I have you to thank for that.”

I cannot fully explain the effect that her email has had on me. Simply, it is an amazing feeling to know that I am capable of impacting others in ways that I could not have originally imagined. This is an experience that I hope all people can fully understand.

HAY_1532In an email from another participant, I read about the young lady’s previous experiences. She told me that I was one of the few people that she had ever told. I will not go into details about her account, but I want to share the overwhelming gratitude I felt when this young woman trusted me with such personal information. It is beyond humbling, and it makes you realize that we are capable of making a huge impact in the lives of others. I feel honored that she told me about her personal story, because it makes me know that she trusts me and that she is on her way to healing from her past. To understand this is beyond magnificent.

Go out today and give somebody an enormous smile, because I guarantee that smile has a greater impact than you could ever imagine.

Leave a comment